As nostalgia hits with my last week in Prague, I’m looking back on a fantastic semester made possible by my two wonderful parents. I don’t say it enough, so I’m writing a blog to solely say thank you to my parents.

Through thick and thin, I’ve never met two more supportive people. Even with the vast differences between myself, Chandler, and Brooke, you manage to treat us all equally and with unconditional love. You’re there when we need you, and encourage us to do whatever it is that will fulfill us the most in life whether it’s my need for organization and planning, Brooke’s talent for art, or Chandler’s newfound love for marathon running.

I know we worried that I wouldn’t be able to come abroad, but the two of you ensured me that you would do whatever it took to make sure I went and had the time of my life and I did just that.  Thank you for making my study abroad dreams a reality.

Thank you for spending days with me as I debated which outfits I wanted to bring abroad, cried over the stress of getting my student Visa, bought an excess amount of cameras, and probably gave you a heart attack with my extensive list of places I wanted to travel. I know I was quite the pain those stressful weeks before leaving, so thanks for dealing with the mess we all know I can be.

IMG_6646-2.JPG

Thank you for thinking I was capable of being abroad and figuring out life in another country because I know you worry about me no matter where I go. I know I’m the youngest girl so you tend to worry about me more than you should but this was a little more than that midnight curfew that I had in high school when I would go over to see Kelly.

Thank you for being there when I called you abroad not knowing how to properly cook chicken thighs that I bought on accident because of the language barrier, or when I was so frustrated at the people here and just wanted to talk to someone. I knew you were always available to talk to me and act like everything I was doing out here was absolutely fabulous, even if maybe it was just coffee or an outing with friends. I can always go to you both to celebrate small victories, ask for advice, or simply to talk about what’s going on in wherever it is we may be.

Thank you, Dad, for working hard to fund my education and so that Mom could come visit me in Prague. And Mom, thanks for one of the best weekends of my entire semester abroad.  I absolutely loved getting to show you all the sites of Prague and spending the weekend with you. No one makes me laugh quite as hard as you and I love all the fabulous meals we eat together. Dad, I wish you could have come because you would have loved the goulash, beer, and efficiency of the Czech people, but I know in just eight short days we will all be reunited and life will be good.

37586988-97E0-4D20-9C7F-8D99B78A1DF7.jpg

Through my time abroad, I have learned a lot about the Czech Republic, about traveling, about myself, and about how much you all do for me. Especially when it comes to planning trips. Wow, that is a pain. So I want to thank you for that as well.  I’ve learned that the gift of time is valuable, and you always manage to drop whatever it is to help me learn and grow as a person. I’ve also learned that I’m quite a challenging person to handle at times, and how you guys have dealt with me for twenty-one years is beyond me. You deserve a standing ovation for just that.

Though I feel as though I never ever want to leave Europe, I have to say that I’m very blessed that I get to come home to such caring people. I can’t wait to spend this last summer as a college student with you all, and while I’ll most likely drive you crazy while I’m there, just know that I’m extremely thankful for the opportunities you have given me and continue to.

I can’t wait to thank you both in person when I come home. I’m already looking forward to reuniting at DIA (maybe with some Taco Bell you guys bring me to the airport) and to hear about all of the adventures you two have had since I’ve been away.

Until then, I’m thinking of you both and praying for Mom’s safe journey back home with Brooke and that you don’t work yourself too hard, Dad. Hold down the fort for eight more days until I’m home! Until then, I can’t wait to share with you the adventures of my last few days in Prague and my trip to Madrid and Barcelona in Spain.

Love you both and see you soon.